About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, June 8, 2015

Dr. Bailey Elected Speaker of AMA House of Delegates

With an uncontested race, the outcome was all but certain ... but the celebration was real. After a four-year stint in the No. 2 spot, Fort Worth allergist and former TMA President Sue Bailey, MD, won election as speaker of the American Medical Association House of Delegates. She moved up one notch after the current speaker — Andy Gurman, MD, of Pennsylvania — was chosen AMA president-elect. “I love this house, and I love this organization,” Dr. Bailey said after the delegates elected her by acclamation. David Henkes, MD, of San Antonio, chair of the Texas Delegation to the AMA, placed Dr. Bailey’s name in nomination. “Sue Bailey is a good person, a nice person, a wise person, and a wonderful mentor,” Dr. Henkes said. “I guarantee you, the physicians of Texas would follow wherever she leads — and this house would be well-advised to do the same.” Elections in contested AMA races are tomorrow. Dallas internist Lynne Kirk, MD, is one of three incumbents — and six candidates total — running for four seats on the AMA Council on Medical Education.

No comments: