About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 11, 2015

Passionate Professor Wins Distinguished Service Award

A real giant of American medicine received TMA’s Distinguished Service Award, a well-deserved crown for a lifetime of leadership. “I regard this award not only as a tribute to my own contributions, but also a recognition of the achievements and performance of my students, house-staff, and fellows,” said Donald W. Seldin, MD, who built The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School from a ramshackle cluster of buildings to an institution that has spawned six Nobel Prize winners. In testimony to the long reach of his 60-year teaching career, more than half the members of the TMA House of Delegates stood to indicate that Dr. Seldin had been an influence in their medical education. Other awards presented at TexMed included these:
  • Jose Manuel de la Rosa, MD, MSc, of El Paso received the Platinum Award, the top honor in the TMA Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine.
  • The Young Physician Section presented its Young at Heart Award to Dr. Weltge.
  • The Resident and Fellow Section presented its J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award for outstanding mentoring and service to young physicians to San Antonio neurosurgeon David Jimenez, MD.
  • The Medical Student Section gave its Chapter of the Year Award to The University of Texas Medical School at Houston (UTHealth Medical School) chapter; its Student of the Year award to Kayla Riggs, a UTHealth Medical School student; and the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award to Russ Kridel, MD, Houston, for his commitment to mentoring medical students.

No comments: