About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 11, 2015

Congressman Burgess Takes SGR Victory Lap at TMA House

A physician-leader who got his start in politics in the TMA House of Delegates railing against Medicare payment cuts returned home the conquering hero. U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Lewisville), the primary author of the bill that repealed Medicare’s Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula, earned a rousing, standing ovation from the House of Medicine. “I am grateful for you giving me the confidence to keep after this,” Dr. Burgess said of the 13-year battle to do away with the SGR. Following his presentation, new TMA Council on Legislation Chair Ray Callas, MD, gave him a special award on behalf of TMA, the Texas Medical Liability Trust (TMLT), and the Texas Alliance for Patient Access.

No comments: