About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, April 20, 2015

It's Time to Say Thank You for SGR Repeal

Texans in Congress played a huge role in getting HR 2, the bill that repealed Medicare’s Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula, passed into law. These leaders, and all who voted for the bill, deserve our thanks. (Here’s the list — with phone numbers to call.) We must start, of course, with Rep. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Lewisville), the primary author of the bill and the driving force for SGR repeal since he first was elected to Congress in 2003. Sen. John Cornyn, the Senate majority whip, used his mastery of Senate rules and expert negotiating to get us over the final hurdle in the Senate. Reps. Kevin Brady (R-The Woodlands) and Gene Green (D-Houston) cosponsored the bill and kept the wheels on the bus when they threatened to fall off. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo) included a provision that protects Texas’ medical liability reforms and ensures that the care standards and guidelines in federal law cannot be used to create new causes of legal action against physicians. Please take just a moment today to make some thank-you calls.

No comments: