About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 5, 2014


The witty and irascible Houston ophthalmologist Alan Baum, MD, was presented the TMA Distinguished Service Award, the association’s highest honor, at TexMed 2014. A former TMA president and longtime board chair, Dr. Baum made his mark as a leader in TEXPAC and TMA’s legislative activities. “Calling on legislators can make such a difference, when they see you’re willing to share what’s important to your patients and your practice,” he said. “Doing so, you represent so much more than yourself.” Other awards presented at TexMed 2014 included:
  • Surendra Varma, MD, a pediatrician from Lubbock and long-serving leader at the Texas Tech Health Sciences Center School of Medicine, received the Platinum Award, the top honor in TMA’s Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine.
  • The Resident and Fellow Section’s J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award went to Arlo Weltge, MD, of Houston.
  • From the Medical Student Section, the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award went to K. Ashok Kumar, MD, of San Antonio. The Student of Year is Justin Bishop of Texas Tech. The students’ Chapter of the Year is The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston chapter.

No comments: