About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 20, 2013


 Retired otolaryngologist but still very active Austin philanthropist Ernest Butler, MD, received this year’s TMA Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Butler is a tremendous supporter of the TMA Foundation. With his wife, Sarah, he has underwritten our Excellence in Science Teaching Awards. Dr. Butler is a great example for physicians who want to give back to their communities. Other awards bestowed during the House of Delegates sessions include:
  • Houston trauma surgeon Ken Mattox, MD, received the first-ever Platinum Award, the top honor in TMA’s Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine.
  • The Young Physician Section gave its Young at Heart Award to Austin’s Bruce Malone, MD.
  • The Resident and Fellow Section’s J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award went to Troy Fiesinger, MD, of Sugar Land.
  • Men named “Berk” seemed to have an advantage in the Medical Student Section awards. The C. Frank Webber, MD, Award went to Steven Berk, MD, Lubbock; and the Student of the Year was his son, Justin Berk, of Texas Tech Health Sciences Center School of Medicine in Lubbock. The students’ Chapter of the Year is the University of North Texas Health Science Center, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine chapter.

No comments: