About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, January 28, 2013


County medical societies around the state are installing new presidents and boards this month. TMA President Michael Speer, MD, traveled to three of them in the past 10 days. At the El Paso County Medical Society, Dr. Speer gave the oath of office to nephrologist Patricio Pazmino, MD. Dr. Speer used the occasion to give El Paso physicians a half-dozen great selling points to recruit their colleagues to join TMA. In his hometown of Houston, Dr. Speer attended the installation of facial plastic surgeon Russ Kridel, MD, as the 2013 president of the Harris County Medical Society and otolaryngologist Bradford Patt, MD, as the new president of the Houston Academy of Medicine. I joined Dr. Speer at the Dallas County Medical Society ceremonies. Radiologist Cynthia Sherry, MD, is the society’s 130th president. Dallas physicians honored two men for their role in responding to last year’s West Nile virus outbreak, giving the Charles Max Cole, MD, Leadership Award to James L. Luby, MD, and the Millard J. and Robert L. Heath Award to Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins.

No comments: