About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, November 12, 2012


The Nov. 6 election was another successful one for TEXPAC as voters elected a record seven TMA and TMA Alliance members to the Texas Legislature. Sen. Bob Deuell, MD (R-Greenville), won reelection to the Texas Senate, while Rep. Charles Schwertner, MD (R-Georgetown), and Donna Campbell, MD (R-New Braunfels), were elected to their first Senate terms. In House elections, Reps. John Zerwas, MD (R-Simonton), and Susan King (R-Abilene), a TMA Alliance member, won new terms. Newcomers Greg Bonnen, MD (R-Friendswood), and J.D. Sheffield, DO (R-Gatesville), will join them. In a tough State Senate race in Fort Worth, Mark Shelton, MD, lost to incumbent Democratic Sen. Wendy Davis. The vote was close — only 1,600 votes separated them. Voters reelected U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Flower Mound), to another term as the only TMA member in Congress. In contested races for the Texas Supreme Court, incumbent Republican justices Don Willett and Nathan Hecht were reelected.

No comments: