About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, October 15, 2012


Medicaid funding and end-of-life issues topped the agenda when TMA President Michael Speer, MD, led a delegation of physicians meeting with Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst. We reviewed much of our Healthy Vision 2020 plan with Lieutenant Governor Dewhurst, who has reappointed Sen. Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) to chair the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services. In addition to Dr. Speer and TMA staff, our team included Drs. Bruce Malone, Dawn Buckingham, Sara Austin, Travis Bias, and David Fleeger, all of Austin. Later that day, Dr. Speer headlined a health care reform panel discussion convened by the McLennan County Medical Society. Others speaking at the Waco event included former TMA (and AMA) President Jim Rohack, MD; county society president Charles Stern, MD; and American Academy of Family Physicians Board Chair Roland Goertz, MD.

No comments: