About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, June 18, 2012


One familiar Texan earned a rousing — and unopposed — reelection at the 2012 Annual Meeting of the American Medical Association House of Delegates, while a Texas medical student earned a top spot, and two other Texas physicians launched their campaigns for AMA leadership positions. Former TMA President Sue Rudd Bailey, MD, was unanimously reelected vice speaker of the AMA House of Delegates (video). Congratulations to David Savage, a third-year MD/PhD student at The University of Texas (UT) Medical School at Houston. David was elected speaker of the AMA Medical Student Section Assembly. Meanwhile, Dallas pediatrician Carolyn Evans, MD, announced her candidacy for the AMA Board of Trustees (video). Four candidates, including one incumbent, are seeking two open spots on the board. Asa Lockhart, MD, an anesthesiologist from Tyler, is one of five candidates, including one incumbent, running for two open seats on the AMA Council on Medical Service. Election day is tomorrow. Drs. Evans and Lockhart were guests of honor at our traditional chili reception for Texas candidates for AMA office. The chili reception proved to be quite the hot event, as hundreds of delegates and their families stopped by for a bowl of the red or a Frito pie and to meet the Texas candidates.

No comments: