About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, February 6, 2012


While we wait for all the judges to straighten out — legally, not literally — the new lines for Texas’ legislative and congressional districts, TEXPAC works to help our friends win election in uncertain districts. We’re especially building grassroots strength for our TMA and TMA Alliance members who are running for office. The TEXPAC Alliance Volunteer Days program is back. As of TEXPAC’s Jan. 27 meeting, here are the candidates we’ve endorsed for the 2012 legislative primaries:

  • For the Texas Senate: Incumbent Sens. Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler), Bob Deuell, MD (R-Greenville), Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound), Joan Huffman (R-W. University Place), Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio), Juan Hinojosa (D-Edinburg), Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio), Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock), and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo).
  • Senate candidates — all current state representatives: Charles Schwertner, MD (R-Georgetown), Ken Paxton (R-McKinney), and Mark Shelton, MD (R-Fort Worth).
  • For the Texas House: Incumbent Reps. Lance Gooden (R-Kaufman), Leo Berman (R-Tyler), Byron Cook (R-Corsicana), Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie), Chuck Hopson (R-Jacksonville), John Raney (R-College Station), Rob Eissler (R-Conroe), John Otto (R-Dayton), Allen Ritter (R-Nederland), Craig Eiland (D-Galveston), John Zerwas, MD (R-Simonton), Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City), Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi), Rene Oliveria (D-Brownsville), J.M. Lozano (D-Kingsville), Paul Workman (R-Austin), Elliot Naishtat (D-Austin), Mark Strama (D-Austin), Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin), Larry Gonzalez (R-Round Rock), Harvey Hilderbran (R-Kerrville), Ralph Sheffield (R-Temple), Jim Keffer, (R-Eastland), Myra Crownover (R-Denton), Susan King (R-Abilene), Doug Miller (R-New Braunfels), Naomi Gonzalez (D-El Paso), Marisa Marquez (D-El Paso), Lon Burnam (D-Fort Worth), Barbara Nash (R-Fort Worth), Todd Smith (R-Hurst), Vicki Truitt (R-Southlake), Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas), Dan Branch (R-Dallas), Angie Chen Button (R-Garland), Joe Straus (R-San Antonio), Dan Huberty (R-Houston), John Davis (R-Houston), Alma Allen (D-Houston), and Sarah Davis (R-Houston).
  • House candidates: Chris Paddie (R-Longview), Sonal Bhuchar (R-Sugar Land), Greg Bonnen, MD (R-Friendswood), Mike Hamilton (R-Mauriceville), Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin), and Susan Todd (R-Fort Worth).
In other races, we’ve endorsed incumbent Michael Burgess, MD, and candidate David Dewhurst for the U.S. House of Representatives, and incumbents Nathan Hecht, David Medina, and Don Willett the Texas Supreme Court.

No comments: