About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, September 26, 2011


Redistricting, retirements, and chances to climb the political ladder are opening plenty of opportunities for physician candidates in the 2012 Texas elections. Senate Finance Committee Chair Steve Ogden (R-Bryan) and Education Committee Chair Florence Shapiro (R-Plano) aren’t seeking reelection, and Sen. Mike Jackson (R-La Porte) is running for one of the state’s four new congressional seats. Rep. Charles Schwertner, MD (R-Georgetown), immediately jumped into the race for Senator Ogden’s seat. In the Houston suburbs, Greg Bonnen, MD, a neurosurgeon from Webster, announced he will be a Republican candidate to succeed Rep. Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood), who is running for Senator Jackson’s slot. TMA Alliance member Sonal Bhuchar, a Fort Bend Independent School District trustee, is a GOP candidate for the seat now held by Rep. Charlie Howard (R-Sugar Land), who isn’t running for a 10th term in the House. TEXPAC leaders will consider endorsing these and many other candidates at next month’s TMA Fall Conference.

No comments: