About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 16, 2011


The House of Delegates selected a new slate of TMA leaders. Michael Speer, MD, a Houston neonatologist, was chosen president-elect. He will take office as president at TexMed 2012 in Dallas. Here are the other election results:

  • House Speaker Steve Brotherton, MD; Vice Speaker Clifford Moy, MD; and Secretary/Treasurer Art Klawitter, MD, all won reelection.
  • The delegates reelected Carlos Cardenas, MD, and Austin King, MD, and elected Dan McCoy, MD, of Dallas to the TMA Board of Trustees.
  • Board members chose Tom Garcia, MD, as the new board chair. Dr. Cardenas is the new vice chair; Dr. McCoy is the new board secretary; and Don Read, MD, and Lewis Foxhall, MD, are the at-large members of the board’s Executive Committee.
  • In balloting for an open spot on the Texas Delegation to the American Medical Association, the house chose Jay Shah, MD, of San Antonio to be the newest alternate delegate.

No comments: