About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 3, 2010


The TMA House of Delegates unanimously chose Austin orthopedic surgeon Bruce Malone, MD, as the association’s president-elect. He will take office at TexMed 2011 in Houston next spring. “My focus will be to protect the patient-physician relationship and strengthen the viability of Texas physicians’ practices in this era of health care reform,” Dr. Malone said. In other elections:
  • The house reelected House Speaker Steve Brotherton, MD, of Fort Worth and Vice Speaker Cliff Moy, MD, of Austin.
  • Delegates reelected Tom Garcia, MD, of Houston to the TMA Board of Trustees, and elected new trustees Doug Curran, MD, of Athens and David Teuscher, MD, of Beaumont. The new resident member of the board is Travis Bias, MD, of Houston, and the new student member is Gavin Roddy from Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine. The board later chose Carolyn Evans, MD, of Dallas as its chair; Dr. Garcia as vice chair; Dr. Curran as secretary; and Carlos Cardenas, MD, of McAllen and Lewis Foxhall, MD, of Houston as members of the executive committee.
  • The house chose Brad Butler, MD, of Longview and Michael Ragain, MD, of Lubbock as the newest physicians on the Texas Delegation to the American Medical Association. The Resident and Fellow Section chose Bret Beavers, MD, of Fort Worth, and the Medical Student Section selected Stephanie Howe of Houston. The house also reelected 15 members of the delegation.
  • The new president of the TMA 50 Year Club is Larry Stone, MD, of Austin.
    The TMA Alliance chose Bridget McKeever of Corpus Christi as its president-elect.

No comments: