About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 3, 2010


Not only has Ladon Homer, MD, of Fort Worth held almost every key leadership position in TMA, TEXPAC, the Tarrant County Medical Society, and the Texas Society of Pathologists, but also he fathered two active TMA physician members and married a lady who went on to be president of both the TMA Alliance and the AMA Alliance. For all of that dedication and more, TMA gave Dr. Homer the Distinguished Service Award, our highest honor. Dr. Homer told the house the award was one of the most wonderful he had ever received. He cited the role his wife, Mary Ann, played in his professional life. “I want you all to know in many ways this a joint award, and today we are both very proud to accept this award,” Dr. Homer told the House of Delegates. In other awards:
  • Five members of the Texas family of medicine who serve in the U.S. Congress and Texas Legislature were the inaugural winners of our Champions of Medicine Award. They are U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Lewisville); State Sen. Bob Deuell, MD (R-Greenville); and State Reps. Mark Shelton, MD (R-Fort Worth); John Zerwas, MD (R-Richmond); and Susan King (R-Abilene). Mrs. King is a TMA Alliance member. Watch their video interviews.
  • The Young Physician Section gave its Young at Heart Award to Glen Johnson, MD, and the Michael O’Malley, MD, Memorial Scholarship to Ashley Murray from Groom High School.
  • The Resident and Fellow Section gave the J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award to Kyle Morrow, MD.
  • The Medical Student Section gave the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award to Joel Dunnington, MD; named The University of Texas Medical School at Houston the chapter of the year; and gave the Student of the Year Award to Maryam Shambayati of Fort Worth.

No comments: