About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 4, 2009


Dallas ophthalmologist Rob Tenery, MD, son and grandson of physicians and the conscience of a generation of Texas physicians, received TMA’s Distinguished Service Award at TexMed 2009. “What this means to me is a validation of those of us who hold on to the conviction that the practice of medicine should always be a profession where what one does continues to be more important than what one gets,” Dr. Tenery said. Also honored at the annual meeting:

  • Fred Merian, MD, of Wimberley won the Young Physician Section’s Young at Heart award. Amelia Martinez of Sabinal received the Michael O’Malley, MD, Memorial Scholarship. The award helps rural high school seniors pursue a degree in medicine.
  • The Resident and Fellow Section named Fort Worth orthopedic surgeon Steve Brotherton, MD, the winner of the J.T. “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award for mentoring.
  • Arlo Weltge, MD, an emergency medicine specialist from Houston, received the C. Frank Webber, MD, Award from the Medical Student Section. The students also named the University of North Texas Health Science Center the Chapter of the Year and University of Texas Southwestern Medical School student Jessica Nguyen-Trong the Student of the Year.

No comments: