About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, April 20, 2009


Four TMA member physicians and three lay citizens earned appointments to the Texas Medical Board from Gov. Rick Perry. The new physician members are Patrick J. Crocker, DO, chief of emergency medicine at Dell Children’s Hospital in Austin, and Dallas orthopedic surgeon Wynne M. Snoots, MD, medical director of the Baylor Sammons Bone Tumor Center at Baylor University Medical Center. The governor reappointed Brownsville obstetrician-gynecologist Manuel G. Guajardo, MD, and Dallas critical care specialist Allan N. Shulkin, MD, to new terms on the board. Jerry Hunsaker, MD, of Corpus Christi, testified in support of House Bill 4385 by Rep. Allen Vaught (D-Dallas), which would criminalize the intentional misuse of databases by health plans to either lower their part of the payment or deny payment for a patient's care.

No comments: