About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, July 21, 2008


Angry physicians and worried patients made the difference on Capitol Hill. As TMA and the rest of organized medicine rallied physicians to contact senators and representatives against the president’s veto, AARP mobilized senior citizens to do the same. With that one-two punch, the Senate voted 70-26 and the House voted 383-41 to override the veto. Here’s how Texans voted:

  • U.S. Sens. John Cornyn and Kay Bailey Hutchison voted against the bill the first time it died in the Senate. They then voted for the bill, giving it a veto-proof majority, and voted to override the veto.

  • Republican U.S. Reps. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Lewisville), Ralph Hall (R-Rockwall), Mike McCaul (R-Austin), Ted Poe (R-Humble), and Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio) voted for the bill initially and also voted to override the veto. Democrats taking the same stand were Reps. Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo), Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin), Chet Edwards (D-Waco), Charlie Gonzalez (D-San Antonio), Al Green (D-Houston), Gene Green (D-Houston), and Ruben Hinojosa (D-Mercedes). Also voting “yes” twice were Reps. Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-Houston), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Dallas), Nick Lampson (D-Stafford), Solomon Ortiz (D-Corpus Christi), and Ciro Rodriguez (D-San Antonio).

  • U.S. Reps. John Culberson (R-Houston), Kay Granger (R-Fort Worth), Pete Sessions (R-Dallas), and Mac Thornberry (R-Clarendon) all voted against the bill, but then voted to override the veto.

  • U.S. Reps. Louie Gohmert (R-Tyler) and Silvestre Reyes (D-El Paso) missed the first House vote on HR 6331 but didn’t miss the chance to vote to override the president’s veto.

No comments: