About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, June 30, 2008


Two days before the debacle in the Senate, the U.S. House voted overwhelmingly for the bill that would have averted the Medicare cuts. Republican U.S. Reps. Michael Burgess, MD (R-Lewisville), Ralph Hall (R-Rockwall), Mike McCaul (R-Austin), Ted Poe (R-Humble), and Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio) withstood party and White House pressure to stand instead with physicians and patients.

Democrats voting for the bill were Reps. Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo), Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin), Chet Edwards (D-Waco), Charlie Gonzalez (D-San Antonio), Al Green (D-Houston), Gene Green (D-Houston), and Ruben Hinojosa (D-Mercedes). Also voting “yes” were Reps. Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-Houston), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Dallas), Nick Lampson (D-Stafford), Solomon Ortiz (D-Corpus Christi), and Ciro Rodriguez (D-San Antonio). Please thank them."

No comments: