About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, June 16, 2008


What a great weekend in Chicago for TMA physicians. The big news is that Jim Rohack, MD, won an uncontested race to be president-elect of the American Medical Association. Dr. Rohack, a cardiologist from Temple, will be installed as the 164th AMA president next June. Under his leadership, Dr. Rohack pledged, AMA will be 'clear, focused, and forceful' in advocating on behalf of American physicians and their patients. In other AMA election news:

  • Fort Worth’s Sue Rudd Bailey, MD, won reelection to the AMA Council on Medical Education.
  • Dawn Buckingham, MD, of Austin, is chair-elect of the AMA Young Physicians Section.
  • Jayesh Shah, MD, of San Antonio, is vice chair of the AMA International Medical Graduate Section.
  • Reid Orth, a medical student from The University of Texas (UT) Health Science Center at San Antonio won reelection as vice chair of the AMA Medical Student Section (MSS).
  • Spencer Pruitt, a medical student from UT Health Science Center at Houston, is the new chair of AMA MSS Region 3.

Follow all the AMA action this week, including the fate of Texas’ three resolutions, in Blogged Arteries.

No comments: