About TMA Related Organizations TMA Calendar Site Map Contact Us

Monday, May 5, 2008


The TMA House of Delegates rewarded its speaker with a promotion, unanimously selecting Houston neurologist Bill Fleming, MD, as president-elect of TMA. Dr. Fleming will take office at TexMed 2009 in Austin. In other elections:

  • The house promoted Vice Speaker Steve Brotherton, MD, to speaker of the house. The new vice speaker is Austin psychiatrist Clifford Moy, MD.

  • Delegates re-elected TMA Secretary-Treasurer Art Klawitter, MD, and Board of Trustees members Carolyn Evans, MD; Carlos Cardenas, MD; and Austin King, MD.

  • The Board of Trustees chose Nacogdoches ophthalmologist Lyle Thorstenson, MD, as its new chair. Michael Speer, MD, is the new vice chair; Dr. King remains as secretary; and Drs. Evans and Cardenas round out the members of the board’s executive committee.

No comments: